Alaska Wood Energy Development Task Group

Alaska Wood Energy Development Task Group announces Wood Energy Pre-Feasibility Grants

The Alaska Wood Energy Development Task Group (AWEDTG) consists of a coalition of federal and state agencies and not-for-profit organizations that have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to explore opportunities to increase the utilization of wood for energy and biofuels production in Alaska. These organizations include: the Alaska Energy Authority; Alaska Village Initiatives; Denali Commission; Juneau Economic Development Council; National Renewable Energy Laboratory; State of Alaska, Department of Natural Resources, Division of Forestry; USDA Farm Service Agency, Alaska; USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service, Alaska; USDA Forest Service, Pacific Northwest Research Station; USDA Rural Development, Alaska; USDI Bureau of Indian Affairs, Alaska; USDI Bureau of Land Management, Alaska; USDOC Economic Development Administration, Alaska; The Nature Conservancy; Tanana Chiefs Conference; Southeast Conference; University of Alaska Fairbanks, Cooperative Extension Service; and USDA Forest Service, Alaska Region.

The AWEDTG is seeking a Statement of Interest from parties that would like to explore the feasibility of community heating projects of individual facility, community, and/or district heating projects with high-efficiency, low-emission, wood-fired systems.

Statements of Interest will be accepted year round

If you have any questions, please contact:
Karen Petersen
Tel. (907) 821-2681

Examples of previous Wood Energy Development Pre-feasibility Studies

AWEDTG Feasibility Assessment Final Report 2006
AWEDTG Final Report 2005-2008

For more information contact:
Devany Plentovich
Project Manager, Biomass
Tel. 907-771-3068