Mr. Dana Pruhs
Vice Chair, Public Member

Mr. Pruhs, of Anchorage, was appointed to the Board on August 15, 2013. He is a lifelong Alaskan and the owner of Pruhs Construction, Quality Sand and Gravel, Meridian Investments, and Harr Technologies. Having been previously involved in a number of public service roles, including the Alaska Board of Game, Pruhs currently services on the Alaska Royalty Oil and Gas Development Advisory Board, the Municipality of Anchorage Planning and Zoning Commission, and the Associated General Contractors Board of Directors.

Mr. Pruhs earned a bachelor's degree in transportation engineering from California Polytechnic State University.

Appointed: 08/15/2013; Reappointed: 07/01/2016 and 9/18/2017 Expires: 06/30/2019
Elected Vice-Chair: 10/01/2013  
Mr. Fred Parady
Deputy Commissioner

Mr. Fred Parady serves as Deputy Commissioner, Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development. Mr. Parady joined the Department of Commerce as Deputy Commissioner in 2014. He served as Chief Operating Officer of the North Slope Borough School District and Chief of Staff of the North Slope Borough. He served as Vice President of Operations and Health, Safety and Environment of EnerCrest, Inc. Before joining EnerCrest in 2007, Mr. Parady had a highly successful 25-year mining career including service with OCI and Bridger Coal Company.

Department of Commerce, Community
and Economic Development
550 West 7th Avenue
Anchorage, AK 99501
Mrs. Elaine Brown
Public Membe

Mrs. Brown, of Anchorage was appointed to the Board on October 17, 2015. She is a lifelong Alaskan Native and is an enrolled tribal member of the Orutsararmiut Native Council (ONC) aka Bethel, Alaska. Brown has worked for 25+ years in the Energy/Petroleum Industry. She previously worked as the Director of Business Development for Western Petroleum, as Executive Director with a non-profit Nuvista Light and Electric Cooperative, and CEO for NorthStar Gas a Native Owned Petroleum Retailer in Western Alaska. Brown currently sits on numerous local boards. She serves as Treasurer on the Girl Scouts of Alaska Board of Directors.

Appointed: 10/17/2015; Reappointed: 07/01/2016

Mr. Joseph M. Beedle
Public Member

Joe Beedle retired at the end of 2017 as the Chief Executive Officer of Northrim Bank/Northrim BanCorp Inc., where he had worked since 2006. He was the University of Alaska’s chief financial officer from 2000-2006 and served as president and chief executive officer of Goldbelt, Inc, in Juneau for six years prior to taking the University position. Joe received the William Egan Award for statewide engagement and leadership and was on the Commonwealth North board for ten years, including past president. Joe started his banking and finance career in 1974 and enjoyed 43 years of progressive financial and business leadership spanning most areas of Alaska.

Mr. Beedle received his BBA Finance degree from the University of Alaska, Fairbanks in 1975 and graduated from the Pacific Coast Banking School at the University of Washington in 1985.

Joe has been married to his wife, Barbara, for 46 years and they are proud parents of a son and daughter and five grandchildren.

Appointed: 08/20/2018Expires: 06/30/2020
Bernie Karl
Public Member

Mr. Karl, of Fairbanks, was appointed to the Board on November 15, 2017. Mr. Karl is the owner of Chena Hot Springs Resort, LLC. Mr. Karl was named the University of Alaska Fairbanks Business Leader of the Year in 2010.

Appointed: 11/15/2017
Expires: 6/30/2019
Mr. Sheldon Fisher
Commissioner, Department of Revenue

Mr. Fisher was appointed Commissioner on November 7, 2017 after serving as the Commissioner of the Department of Administration since 2014. He previously worked as Chief Operating Officer at McKinley Capital Management, LLC in Anchorage. Mr. Fisher also spent 15 years in the telecommunications industry—both in the Lower 48 and in Alaska. He worked for six years at Alaska Communications, where he served as senior vice president of sales and product marketing.

Mr. Fisher earned an economics degree from Brigham Young University and a law degree from Yale University. He is proficient in Spanish.

550 West 7th Avenue, Suite 670
Anchorage, Alaska 99501
11th Floor State Office Building