Alaska Energy Security Task Force

Governor Mike Dunleavy issued Administrative Order 344 on February 23, 2023, establishing the Alaska Energy Security Task Force (“Task Force”). The purpose of the Task Force is to develop a comprehensive statewide energy plan that will evaluate energy generation, distribution, and transmission for the State of Alaska and its communities. The development of this plan will include collaboration with public and private stakeholders. The statewide energy plan, including proposed timelines and milestones, will be presented to the governor upon completion. The Task Force shall deliver an initial report to the Governor by May 19, 2023, and the Task Force will sunset on October 31, 2023.
The Alaska Energy Security Task Force consists of 15 voting members and three ex officio members appointed by and serving at the pleasure of the Governor.
The voting members are as follows:
  • Lieutenant Governor Dahlstrom (Chair of the Task Force)
  • Commissioner Jason Brune (Commissioner of the Department of Environmental Conservation)
  • Commissioner John Boyle (Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources)
  • Curtis W. Thayer (Vice Chair of the Task Force) (Executive Director of the Alaska Energy Authority)
  • Gwen Holdmann (Vice Chair of the Task Force) (Member from the University of Alaska with a background in energy)
  • Clay Koplin, Cordova Electric Cooperative (Member from a utility that represents rural Alaska or a community receiving power cost equalization)
  • Nils Andreassen, Alaska Municipal League (Member who represents a city, borough, or municipality)
  • Tony Izzo, Matanuska Electric Association (Member with a Railbelt utility background)
  • John Simms, Enstar (Member from the oil and gas industry)
  • Karl Hanneman, International Tower Hill Mines (Member from the mining industry)
  • Robert Venables, Southeast Conference (Member with a background in economic development)
  • Andrew Guy, Calista Corporation (Member from the business community)
  • Jenn Miller, Renewable Independent Power Producers (Member from any segment of the Alaskan energy industry)
  • Duff Mitchell, Juneau Hydropower (Member of the general public)
  • Isaac Vandenburg, Launch Alaska (Member of the general public)

The ex officio members are as follows (plus the two seats from the legislature):

  • Commissioner Keith Kurber (Member of the Regulatory Commission of Alaska)
  • Garrett Boyle (Representative from the Denali Commission)
  • Erin Whitney (From the U.S. Department of Energy, Arctic Energy Office)
  • Senator Click Bishop (District R)
  • Representative George Rauscher (District 29)

Administrative Orders

Press Releases